Inschrijven op de nieuwsbrief

Oek de Jong

Oek de Jong - foto Koos Breukel
Oek de Jong - foto Koos Breukel

(Breda, 1952) grew up in Dokkum and Goes before studying art history in Amsterdam. He made his debut in 1975 in Hollands Maandblad. Four years later he made his breakthrough with Opwaaiende zomerjurken, a coming of age novel about the main character Edo Mesch: as a child growing up in the countryside in the 1950s, as an adolescent in Zeeland and later as a student going through erotic adventures in Amsterdam. Six years later his novel Cirkel in het Gras appeared. This was followed by a long silence. In that time De Jong taught creative writing to Joost Zwagerman and Marcel Möring, who had not made their debuts yet. In 2002 he published Hokwerda's kind, which was adapted for the stage. In 2012 Pier en oceaan appeared, which won him the Gouden Uil in 2013. This is again a coming of age novel, in which De Jong returns to the provinces of Zeeland and Friesland of his youth. At the festival Oek de Jong will be awarded the F. Bordewijk Prize for Pier en oceaan.

(WU 2014 Gr)

Archive available for: Oek de Jong

  • Winternachten 2014

    Writers Fest 2014

    With: Aad Meinderts, Alfred Schaffer, Antjie Krog, Bettine Vriesekoop, Elsbeth Etty, Francis Broekhuijsen, Geert Mak, Huub van der Lubbe, Jaap Goedegebuure, Jan Paul Schutten, Marjolein de Jong, Micha Hamel, Oek de Jong, Ronald Snijders, Tijs Goldschmidt, Tiziano Perez, Tom Lanoye

    The Writers' Fest is the festive conclusion of the festival with a programme full of writers and other guests. The line-up consists of among others the Dutch poet Alfred Schaffer, Geert Mak, the South African poet Antjie Krog, Tom Lanoye, literary critic Elsbeth Etty, flute player Ronald Snijders and singer/poet Huub van der Lubbe.

    The Writers' Fest includes the award winning ceremony of the Jan Campert Prizes, the literary prizes of the City of The Hague, with the presentation of the Constantijn Huygens Oeuvre Prize. The winner is Tom Lanoye. The South African writer Antjie Krog will do a eulogy on him and we'll hear Lanoye's words of thanks.

    The F. Bordewijk Prize goes to Pier en Oceaan (Jetty and Ocean) by Oek de Jong. The novel will be praised by Jaap Goedegebuure. Composer and poet Micha Hamel is recipient of the Jan Campert Prize for his book of poetry Bewegend doel (Moving Target). Bettine Vriesekoop will recommend the book to us. The Nynke van Hichtum Prize for children's literature goes to Het raadsel van alles wat leeft (The Riddle of Everything Alive) by Jan Paul Schutten. Writer and biologist Tijs Goldschmidt will sing the praise of that book.

    A programme in co-operation with the Dutch Foundation for Literature and the Jan Campert Foundation. The earlier announced performance of Anne Vegter has been cancelled for health reasons.

    In Dutch.