Inschrijven op de nieuwsbrief

Jeroen Olyslaegers

Jeroen Olyslaegers - foto Koen Broos
Jeroen Olyslaegers - foto Koen Broos

(Mortsel, 1967) writes columns, theatre texts and prose. His novels WIJ (WE, 2009), WINST (GAIN, 2012) and WIL (WILL, 2016) form a triptych about the turbulent history of the last century in which the individual must determine his attitude toward community. WIJ is about a group of friends holidaying in 1976 in a Spain that has just liberated itself from Franco's yoke. In GAIN, an art dealer organizing an exhibit in Berlin observes how the city has changed since 1989. WIL is a WWII novel in which the protagonist sees how some people try to save Jews while others try to hunt them to their deaths. The latter won Olyslaegers the F. Bordewijk Prize. "His impressive sentences and ingenious composition make the vagueness of the war years tangible," wrote the jury. Olyslaegers has also taken home various theatre prizes, in part for his social engagement.


Archive available for: Jeroen Olyslaegers

  • Winternachten 2018

    Writers Fest

    With: Aad Meinderts, Alejandra Theus, Annet Schaap, Arie Storm, Carmien Michels, Cyrille Offermans, Ernst Reijseger, Hans Tentije, Hassnae Bouazza, Herman Van Goethem, Jeroen Olyslaegers, Joris Wijsmuller, Kay Sleking, Marije Langelaar, Paula Golunska, Uri Eugenio

    A festive program moderated by Hassnae Bouazza and built around the presentation of the Jan Campert Prizes, the literary awards of the City of The Hague. We celebrate Dutch literature with a variety of performances by writers, poets and musicians.

    Belgian author and poet Carmien Michels opened Writers Fest 2018 by reciting one of her poems. Then Arie Storm, novelist and critic, offered his take on 'The State of Dutch Literature'.

    Before Joris Wijsmuller, alderman for civic development, living, sustainability and culture with the City of The Hague, handed out the prizes to the winners, the audience determined which of the three nominated high schoolers will win the Young Campert Prize for a young poet from The Hague. The students presented their own poems, written during poetry worshops at school.

    Marije Langelaar (1978) received the Jan Campert Prize for her poetry collection Vonkt! (Sparks!) Her laudation was performed by dancer and choreographer Uri Eugenio, known for his appearances with Scapino and LeineRoebana and in So You Think You Can Dance.

    Jeroen Olyslaegers (1967) received the F. Bordewijk Prize for his novel WIL. He was honoured by historian, jurist, lecturer and rector of the University of Antwerp Herman Van Goethem and noted actress Alejandra Theus, who performed an excerpt from WIL.

    The Nienke van Hichtum Prize 2017 was awarded to Annet Schaap (1965) for Lampje (Little Lamp); she was serenated by tango guitarist and contrabassist Kay Sleking.

    The afternoon culminated with the awarding of the Constantijn Huygens Prize to Hans Tentije for his entire poetic works. Tentije was musically honoured by cellist Ernst Reijseger and essayist Cyrille Offermans made a celebratory speech.

    This event is a collaboration between Winternachten festival, the Jan Campert Foundation / Literatuurmuseum. Program in Dutch.